• Categories
  • App Tips
    3  min read

    Why and How To Delete Your Facebook Ad Account?

    By Abhishek A Agrawal
    December 30, 2021
    Table of Contents

      Have you been running Facebook ads for a while? 

      But are now planning to stop running them? Then you must close (delete) your Facebook Ad account.

      Get to know why and how to close your Facebook ad account as you go through this short read.

      Reasons to stop Facebook Ads

      • Current targets have been achieved, or

      • Not getting the expected results, or

      • Have client ad accounts who don’t wish to continue running the ads

      Integrate Facebook With 750+ Apps In 1 Click

      No Learning Curve. Built For Non-techies.

      Why Close (Delete) Your Facebook Ad Account ?

      It is advisable to close (delete) your ad account if you don’t want to run ads anymore. Even Facebook recommends the same.

      There are  2 strong reasons: 

      1. Security: It prevents access to your payment method associated with the closed ad account

      2. Protection: It stops others from compromising your account

      However, note that Facebook does not delete your ad account completely. You can only close your account and hide it.

      How to Close (Delete) Your Facebook Ad Account ?

      Before trying to close (delete) your Facebook ad account, you need to ensure that,

      • You are the ad account admin or business account admin, 

      • Have logged in from a desktop, and

      • You have no outstanding dues in your account

      Because in case you have outstanding dues, they will be charged to your credit card. And your credit card will be released only after the payment. This process usually takes 2 business days.

      Steps to close (delete) your Facebook ad account .

      There are 2 ways to do so –

      A. Business Manager : Steps to follow

      1. Go to https://business.facebook.com/
      2. Select your Business

      3. Next, in your Facebook Business Settings, go to Accounts > Ad Accounts

      4. Click on the ad account you want to disable and be done!

      B. Facebook Ads Manager : Steps to follow

      1. Go to your Ads Manager Settings. Re-enter your password (if asked for).

      2. Click Deactivate ad account, below the Ad Agency header.

      3. Confirm the deactivation and provide a reason why (this is optional).

      4. Click Deactivate Ad Account.

      Once done, your account will be closed.

      *Important*: By default, if you don’t spend any money on ads for over 56 days, Facebook automatically closes that account.

      8 Million+ Ready Automations
      For 750+ Apps

      Implications

      What happens after the closure of your Facebook ad account?

      Closing your ad account leads to :

      • Removal of primary payment method: The payment method added to your ad account is removed and is therefore no longer available.

      • Ads turned off: Any of your running ads linked to it gets automatically turned off. 

      • Unable to publish new ads: Facebook stops you from publishing new ads from the closed ad account.

      FAQs about delete Facebook Ad account

      Can you permanently delete a Facebook Ad Account?

      No. You cannot permanently delete a Facebook ad account. Facebook does not allow you to do so. You can either close or deactivate the account.

      If you delete a Facebook ad account, can you start a new one?

      If you delete a Facebook ad account, it does not create room for a new one. Because Facebook does not permanently delete your ad account. It simply remains closed or deactivated. You can only restart it. So, deleting an ad account has nothing to do with creating a new one.

      If, however, you want to create a new one, you need to ensure that you have not exhausted the limit on your business account. Otherwise, Facebook prevents you from proceeding further.

      Why can't I delete my Facebook Business Manager account?

      You can't delete your Facebook Business Manager account if you have:

      • Several ad accounts added to the Business Manager
      • Outstanding dues
      • Multiple payment methods or apps or people or pages added to your business
      • Used a Business Manager to create a disclaimer
      • A professional Insta account. In that case, you need to convert it to a regular one and then proceed further with deletion.
      • Turned on customized lead access for a Page in your Business Manager

      *Important*: If your Business manager has system users, it can't get deleted.

      How do I remove myself from my Facebook ad account?

      You can remove yourself from your Facebook ad account using Facebook Business Manager.

      Follow these simple steps:

      • Open Business Settings.
      • Go to Business Info.
      • Scroll to the bottom. Below My Info, click Leave [Business Name].
      Author - Abhishek A Agrawal
      Abhishek is the founder of Integrately, CompanyHub, and Dreamwares. He is passionate about technology and entrepreneurship. He is always looking to leverage technology for the growth of the business. He has a deep understanding of how businesses work and uses this knowledge to build products that help entrepreneurs grow their businesses.
      anybody-can-integrate
      Integrate Your Apps In 1 Click With Integrately
      • #1 Highest rated Zapier alternative for non-techies
      • 8 Million+ ready automations
      • 18x-33x less expensive
      2021 ProductHunt Golden Kitty Awards

      We are proud to be amongst

      Top 4

      Products Of The Year

      Top 4

      Productivity Tools Of The Year

      Most upvoted product of the month
      Trusted by 10,000+ Customers
      Highest Rated Integration Platform on G2
      leader
      most-implementable
      easiest-to-do-business
      best-support